Vegetable bouillon for all recipes
When I first started cooking vegetarian for my partner, I didn’t realize all of the ingredients I had to consider in order to make the food 1oo % Vegetarian. My first faux pas was to use bouillon cubes made of chicken by product for sauces, soups, and beans.
It didn’t dawn on me that I was contaminating the food and not making it Vegetarian. I had trouble finding vegetable broth in a box or can at the local Walmart. What I did find one day was bouillon cubes from Knorr that are all Vegetable. This was a great find. They also have cubes that are combined with other herbs such as garlic and cilantro.
I use the cubes in gravy, sauces, and soups. I know that I could make my own broth which is probably lower in salt, but when you want something quick like a hearty vegetable soup, the vegetable bouillon cube is the way to go.
We have also found other brands that make a vegetable bouillon cube at our favorite vegetarian cafeteria in Ponce, Puerto Rico called El Eden and at Freshmart in San Juan. I just needed to venture out and find them.
What other Vegetarian mistakes did you make when becoming vegetarian? If you made one what did you substitute it with?
LoL! eating the Egg Drop Soup at my favorite Chinese Restaurant! I couldn’t figure out why I kept getting sick! Until I talked to the owner/chef about it. That’s when I found out they use chicken stock! He was kind enough to make me a soup off menu… with no chicken stock!!
When I make stuff like Calabacita or even to cook rice, I use this or Knorr’s Vegetarian Boullion Cubes. I use them in just about everything that requires any kind of stock/boullion.
… I hope they are veggie friendly… all I know is I haven’t gotten sick. LoL.
Thanks for commenting Clara!
When we go out to restaurants we will ask if the stock is vegetable or chicken based. More than 99 % of the time, it is chicken based. The only place that my boyfriend will eat soup is at the vegetarian cafeterias.
That happened to me at the beginning with Miso Soup since it had Tofu in it I would have not thought it was not vegetarian friendly because it was made out of fish stock.